In this world of eating healthy, I have made the effort to cut out those foods I know are bad.

Years ago I cut out soda to lose weight and make my rosacea ease away. And I gave up red wine that made my skin just flame up. That effort was totally worth it.

To make that transition easier I began drinking more tea, especially green tea in the morning.

So far, so good.

I have added more fruit and vegetables to various meals. I have added a regular exercise routine. But the next step is to start cutting out the ‘white’ elements of our diet – white sugar, white bread and white rice.

So I bravely picked out a whole-grain pasta from Barilla. I like Barilla pasta as it has fun shapes and does everything I want from pasta. My Mac-and-cheese owes everything to the cork screw shaped macaroni from Barilla.

This night I knew I was changing things up and no one in the house was looking forward to it. They had seen the slightly different colored box and knew I was trying to make them eat healthy. Four kids and a husband were not happy about this. I do not count the dog because he can – and will – eat anything.

That is why I picked up Encor’s Chicken Parmesan, aka red things, to go along with the meal. You always need to make sure there is something they do like matched with the unknown food. Most of the time, I make it biscuits. They may not eat the goulash but they will fill up on biscuits. Since this night the new food was pasta, I decided to make the alleged protein the familiar item.

I cooked the pasta and it was not the familiar yellow color. To make matters worse, it was a bit crunchy despite my over-cooking it. Barilla pasta normally floats over the tongue, is easily crushed by the teeth and leaves a pleasant after-taste. The crunchy-ness was not acceptable.

It was a disaster.

The kids hated it, my husband proclaimed we would never buy whole grain pasta again. The dog wondered how much he was going to get.

I have friends who say they love whole-grain pasta, that their kids eat it willingly. Well, at least mine willingly eat the red things.

Karyn Bowman is also known as Mom Goes to the Movies. She lives in Kankakee County with her outdoor writer husband and four children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook.

