As Valentine’s Day gets nearer, the lines at Blockbuster to pick out the perfect movie will get longer. But some movies deserve to be ignores all together.

A word of warning first, I am about to be sacrilegious. “Legends of the Fall” has to be one of the most over-rated films ever. Ever!!!!!

The last time I watched this movie, with the thought of how great to see Brad Pitt in this tale of great love, was many years ago. At some point as the camera pans over the cemetery, talking of how these people sacrificed their life for Tristan, I wanted to scream.

The movie is overwrought with emotion, with meaning, with Tristan’s wild character. In the end, I could not like him or even sympathize with him. It is not that his character is mean or insensitive. I believe Tristan truly cared for his brother, Samuel. But in deserting Susannah, he revealed a carelessness with others.

But worse yet, it seemed that the narrative wanted to blame Tristan for all of the deaths in the movie. Was he really? I always felt he was the blame for Isabella’s end but not anyone else’s.

Perhaps I am wrong. Perhaps you agree. Perhaps you think another movie meant for Valentine’s Day deserves to be called the most over-rated. Tell me what you think.

Karyn Bowman is also known as Mom Goes to the Movies. She lives in Kankakee County with her outdoor writer husband and four children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook .

