Product Thursday

Most parents know what I am about to say.

There are some TV shows that our kids watch that absolutely drive us crazy. And the fact that they want to watch them over and over again is enough to drive a person insane.

Say “Yu-Gi-Oh” to my husband and watch the volcano start. To keep his cool, he might repeat the oft said lines (“You have to believe in the heart of the cards”). But really, he would rather smash the telelvision than have that show on.

But here is the other half of that coin. Every couple of years, an inspired toon comes around that you want to watch with the kids. You might even remind them when it is on or find yourself humming the theme song during the day.

Past favorites that have made me sit down with the kids include Rugrats, The Wild Thornberries, Naruto and Johnny Test. What I love about all of them is how they get to the nitty gritty of life in fantastical ways.

In some way shape or form I have connected with the characters – even Johnny with his flaming farts – and admire their bravery. Of course, these characters are drawn and made to act in this manner. But it does not stop me from liking them.

Phineas and Ferb by not quite normal; Image from Disney Lovin Mom 2010's Blog

My latest cartoon love – Phineas and Ferb.

My love starts in that they are always thinking of something to do. The words “I’m Bored” will never come out of the mouths of these boys. How can you sit on the couch when they are creating rollercoasters and ways for their sister, Candace, to earn the most badges ever in Fireside Girl history.

These guys have traveled in time machines, started a restaurant in the backyard and worked to give their friends a great time in order to give their friends the best day ever.

The other part of my P&F love has to to with Doofenschmirtz, the villian. He gets to sing some of the craziest songs and is outwitted by his evil inventions all of the time. And yet he is always trying to connect with his daughter.

Image from Barnes and Noble.com

This past Christmas, Sam was given the CD as a present and he LOVES it. In fact he still plays it and we, the parents, are not sick of it. In fact, I would listen to it even if the kids are not in the house. The music is fun and always trying out various tempos and styles.

Some may say that Phineas and Ferb re-hash storylines and use too many repetitive gags and have no originality. I say they are wrong because this show is just too fun not to feel good about when you are finished with an episode or two.

Besides, have the doubters watched that fish tank show yet? Now there is something that can make a mom tear out her hair.

How are you spending those 104 days of summer vacation?

Every Thursday I will review a product or service. If you have a suggestion or a product you would like me to review, please drop me an email at bowmankaryn@sbcglobal.net.

