Easter Eggs, photo by stockarch

Today, I am participating in my favorite post Easter tradition.

I am eating Easter egg-salad. It is egg salad made from those colored eggs the kids could not wait to do on Saturday and hunted for on Sunday. Now they sit in the fridge so I took a bunch and made them into egg salad. It is fun to bite into those colorful bits of egg.

It is also time to look over how our Lenten sacrifices turned out. My 13-year-old chose to give up listening to Michael Jackson music. I am proud to say he succeeded. He would listen on Sundays when he was allowed. But otherwise David was successful in keeping with his sacrifice. During this week of spring break, I have heard the “This Is It” album cranked the few time when he was not outside.

Somehow, I made it through with my one serving of chocolate per day goal. I think I only intentionally cheated three times which is a real accomplishment of sorts. There were times that I inadvertently took a second serving or realized that the gingerbread mocha creamer I put in my coffee would now be the only chocolate for the day.

What I really wanted to do with this challenge was to make myself more thoughtful about how much I eat of the stuff each day. I wanted to make myself realize that going a day without chocolate wasn’t a bad thing. There were times that I forgot to eat any on a given day and so made that my snack before going to bed. Now I know, if I miss out it is OK.

Crazy, yes, but definitely effective. During this time I also learned that 15 minutes a day in my closet of doom could really make a difference. I took the time to clean out 200 e-mails from my account, every day. I went from over 10,000 e-mails to 2500. Thanks to Facebook and LinkedIn, it is building up again. But now I am working on maintenance and not fire cleaning.

That is just the spot I want to be in, maintenance. Getting to my mid 40s has meant collecting a bunch of stuff. Pictures, fabric, bills. Good things and bad things. Now I want to let go of the unnecessary collections and keep that which I love.

Karyn Bowman lives in Kankakee County with her outdoor writer husband and four children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook.

