Sunday evening for our family is the big dinner night. One member plans the meals. All except for the youngest cooks the meal.
 
This week was Sam’s turn and his suggestion was deer meat. Alas, no deer wandered by my husband’s deer stand this year and we have no deer meat.  I quickly suggested Pot Roast and he thought that was a great idea. So here is the recipe and the steps.
 

Roast Beef Ingredients

I started with a three-pound chuck roast, coating it with a spiced flour mixture that includes salt, pepper, cinnamon and garlic. That is when it goes in the fry pan to brown the outer portion. I also quartered 8 medium-sized potatoes, sliced 3 carrots and 1/2 purple onion, and added some leftover quartered mushrooms. 

Roast Beef in the crock pot

While the meat is browning, I load the crock pot. First the onions, then the potatoes to be followed by the carrots. The meat goes on top of the vegetables and the mushrooms top the meat. I add water to the top of the vegetables, cover and place the crock pot on high for hours. For this meal, it was a total of six hours. At hour five, I add red wine for more flavor.

Roast Beef in the Serving Dish

Right before I took the meat out I placed biscuits in the oven. Then I put the dog in the office so he will not make an attempt to steal our dinner (he would if he could). That is when I scoop the meat onto the serving dish with the potatoes, carrots, onion and mushrooms surrounding the meat.

By the time we finished supper, there was enough food for one person to have lunch the next day.  It is the kind of meal that is simple and satisfying. Comfort food at it’s best.