Family Movie Night

By Karyn Bowman

The other night I started watching a show called Anne with an E

It is based on the Anne of Green Gables book series about a young orphan who is mistakenly sent to bachelor and his spinster sister.

Anne with an E

Anne With an E

I have never read this series but seeing the newest adaptation was fascinating and intriguing. I could see how Anne would get on the bad side of just about anyone.

I read one review that did not like the darkness of the new series or some of the liberties it takes with the source material.

And I understand that review, I really do. Except, I found myself loving the show and wanting to watch more. I felt some of the touches on the story were perhaps more realistic about the bleakness of Anne’s true reality. It also made me wonder how Anne could be so cheerful or hopeful feeling considering she should have been more bitter feeling about her life so far.

What I really felt was excitement that I could watch this show, thanks to our Netflix subscription. And I do love Netflix. But I also get frustrated that I cannot watch certain shows because Netflix drops them or removes movies from the streaming list.

Mocking Jay part 1Case in point, I finally saw The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1. Having read all of the books and watched most of the movies, I realized I was ready for that last movie, Mockingjay Part 2. I had avoided it not because I thought it was bad but because I know the ending. I know who lives and who doesn’t which makes me sad.

I thought for sure that Netflix would have it in their streaming collection and that there would be no problem in watching that movie at the moment I wanted to watch it.

The answer turned out differently. It was not available for viewing and I was lucky to have seen Part 1 on the cable station I saw it on. And to think that Mocking jay Part 2 only came out less than two years ago. I could rant about the unfairness of picky streaming services. But I’m not.

Thankfully, I have a library card. Thanks to that library card I have ordered a physical copy of the movie I wanted to see. Yes, it is possible for any of us to buy an out-of-district card. But what if we didn’t have to do that. What if we had a library here in St. Anne?

library card plastic2It could be a place with computer access for those kids who have chrome books from school but no internet access at home. Twenty-five percent of all Americans do not have internet service at home. A library could be a place where books, movies, and other tools for learning could be at a librarian’s or patron’s fingertips. A library could be a place for people to work on resumes or learn something new or read a classic novel such as Anne of Green Gables.

To have a library, a publicly funded library, would cost money. But you would pay for that after the first six hardbacks, or ten movies, or 50 prints from your email. People know where I work and some sigh with the desire of having a library of our own. I think about how great of a thing that could be as well.

Libraries aren’t just about books or movies. They are about the wonder of discovery and the beauty of the world that is all around us. I think Anne Shirley would agree with me that libraries are about hope. And hope can take you to many different places.

Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.

