I have to admit, I enjoy a good spy movie.

There is something about the cloak and dagger stuff that is exciting because I will never live it. Honestly, I was never meant to carry out any of those missions. I can’t lie my way out of a paper bag, there is no way I could bluff through an entire night.

Perhaps that is why I enjoyed the latest Melissa McCarthy flick “Spy” that came out on DVD recently.

McCarty, quite frankly, looks like one of us. As the CIA analyst who works from the basement control room in Langely, she acts like one of us wimpy types which makes her appealing to me. I feel as if I know her. She is that smart funny friend who is just a bit gun-shy and thinks of the great retort a few days later. McCarthy is great in the basement watching a screen to control the action but she knows she could not be a field agent.

Spy

Enter a caption

That is until she decides to go out in the field when her field-agent partner is compromised. Suddenly the shy woman who cannot fire the gardener is dressing up in Italian fashions and chasing potential enemies. And she has help in the form of rogue agent Jason Stratham and fellow basement dweller Miranda Hart. Then there is Aldo. I could explain Aldo by that would take too long.

All of this is so that she can track and report on the actions of Rose Byrne who happens to be the daughter of a recently deceased arms dealer.

I realize it is getting convoluted but really that may be one of the reasons to watch this movie. It is wonderfully ridiculous. And it is not afraid to go into the R rating territory. I won’t lie and say there is no swearing in this movie. There is plenty along with a healthy use of hand gestures and a few gruesome dead bodies. Too many movies play it safe and stay in the PG-13 zone for the maximum amount of possible audience members. That’s good for families although at times it makes for weaker movies, especially in the horror genre.

Then there are times when adults want something more spicy, filled with words they might hear all of the time at work when things go wrong. I appreciated the earthiness of this movie. And I really appreciated Stratham for playing against his usual type of always being in control. He screws up and somehow it works out. His character is a mess and I love him for that. Jude Law, normally incredible, seems a bit tamped down. Maybe like his character, he didn’t think he had to work that hard.

Sprectre Daniel Craig In any case, it is McCarthy’s film and she holds up her end. My husband thought it was too over-the-top, he didn’t think it was all that good of a movie. Perhaps he has a point but I know that this was something fun to watch after a long day at work and the kids were safely in bed. Besides the real spy movie, Spectre, is out on DVD. If I want a more serious take of the spy profession, I can watch that.

Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.

