Last night as I drove home, I found myself listening to Laurence Holmes on The Score.

Laurence HolmesI really like Laurence and his sports show because it is never just about sports. Sports is a big piece of his life but, as you listen, you realize there is a lot going on in Laurence’s life in a positive way.

It doesn’t hurt that he gave me a shout out once but I liked him way before that.

Last night, he discussed a documentary short produced by Joakim Noah, of the Chicago Bulls, on the effect of gun violence on those who survive, what it means to lose someone to violence.

Then he played the audio from the 8:49-minute clip. I found it heart-rendering. I found myself thinking the editor did a great job of telling these various stories from kids and Chicago Bulls players who lost loved ones to gun violence.

Could it lead to awards as Laurence thought it may? I don’t know but I do know that people who have been through this situation, of which there are too many, and watch this documentary will know that they are not alone. That there are people out there who know exactly how they feel.

And that it is okay to cry out those feelings and feel that loss.

Here is a link to that documentary.“You’re Not Alone”

