Argh!  Today has been one of those days.

Did I mean to have this review done and ready to go yesterday? Yes, I did.

Did I mean for it to be posted and not have Samantha worry that one of her bloggers was failing or flailing? Yes, I did.

Unfortunately, life and family got in the way. Baseball games, dog training,  and the need to be out of the house during this awful period of unemployment got in the way.

While my son’s team lost last night in a complete blowout, I can tell you almost every time he was at bat Sam hit the ball and managed to get on base.

I can tell you that the picture for my mother’s Mother’s Day gift is ready and the frame needs a little adjustment. I can tell you I bought a nice red dress shirt for my son’s concert in two days and that I found a cute top for my daughter on her birthday next week. And I finally bought the needed Plumber’s goop for under the kitchen sink.

Those are all stories for another time.

Image from Chick Lit Plus

Image from Chick Lit Plus

Today we are talking about Cookies For Dinner  by Pam Johnson-Bennett and Kae Allen.

This collection of essays follow the very different paths to motherhood Pam and Kae took, as well as their philosophies.

That might explain why the germophobe had a cockroach wave at her or the usually punctual mom found herself getting late to class as her pregnancy wore on.

Life, pregnancy, and child rearing is seldom what you will expect it to be; there is no such thing as perfection.

Which may be the reason I found myself laughing at the cockroach story and the measles story and one of the potty training stories.

I like this book for being easy to pick up and put down. Some days, the only time I had to read even one essay was at bedtime before I passed out. But during that time, I would read one complete story. It gave me time to reflect on the story and chuckle to myself.

I understood the one about trying to get through a store without a dreaded tantrum but still buying your stuff because, yep, I did that. Child had a tantrum and I refused to give in. We have all done some of the things in this book and it is reassuring to know that sometimes, some days, we fail. But then the next morning comes and we try again.

Now the stories that might have you tearing up are the ones Pam tells about adopting her two children.  When you need comic relief, Kae jumps in with a tale of hosing off her child’d car seat in the front yard after an explosive poop. Did I mention the child was still in the seat?

Pam and Kae: Image from Chick Lit Plus

Pam and Kae: Image from Chick Lit Plus

Oh, you can sit there and pretend you have never done any of this or thought about it. Truth is, too many parenting books are pompuss and filled with inane advice. I put down one book because the author’s forward was a hot air explanation of what we do wrong as parents from the perspective of someone who may have never had a kid.

That I do not need. Instead, I want to read stories of real people who have been there, done that, and can tell a damn funny story after the storm clouds have settled down. These two moms have that down. If there is no other reason to read the book, then listening to their stories about parenting in the worst of times and in the best of times is one of the few things you will actually wish to do again.

Especially the one about the waving cockroach because it is both touching and funny.

 

Want to find the book? Connect with Pam & Kae!

Facebook link: http://www.facebook.com/twoloonsandabook

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/2loonsandabook

Our website: http://www.twoloonsandabook
Buy the Book!

http://www.amazon.com/Cookies-Dinner-tales-survive-motherhood/dp/1935052519/ref=la_B001H6NUGW_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1367684096&sr=1-7

