Spring has come early to our corner of the world.

 

The tulips are brilliant.

 

Clematis vines are six inches long, peony plants are a foot high.

 

 

Pansies in bloom.

 

Wild Violets going crazy.

 

Even my neighbor's flowering tree is going at it.

 

But, as always, there is a downside to all of this great warmth and beautiful sights.

The return of the Fruit Fly.

 

These little flies come along and take over the kitchen. If you do nothing, they multiply fast. I hate having fifty or more buzzing around my head.

These things live for a day or so and must get a lot of stuff done. However, I have a solution that works for me. It involves a little red wine  or white wine and red kool-aid as well as some dish-washing liquid. I do not know why they love red wine but the husband has to be careful with open bottles.

The trap.

 

Now we wait. It takes a while for one, then another, then another to gather on the bowl, take a drink and realize they cannot get up. Perhaps they are too drunk to fly and fall in, perhaps the dish soap make their little legs stuck.

 

See those black dots? Those are the fallen.

 

Before you know it the dish will have 20, 30 40 fruit flies in it. The dish will be disgusting and I will clean it out. Then I will set it up all over again.

How do you get rid of fruit flies?

 

 

