About a month ago my niece mentions that she is making comfort food, a dish called Guisada.

Of course, I asked about it. And then my other niece gave me a recipe. So when I got the chance, I made Guisada using this recipe.

The Ingredients

 
I cut up a two-pound chuck roast along with the stew meat, diced the potatoes and covered them with a flour mixture of chili powder and cumin.
 

Meat and potatoes in the flour mixture

 
The recipe did not call for the meat to be browned first so I put everything in the crock pot with the onions, garlic and broth. Then I left it there for hours.
 

Guisada with Rice

 
What surprised me was that my kids, who can be very picky, liked this dish and asked me to make it again.
 
And I plan to do just that.
 
 
What are you experimenting with in the kitchen?

 

 

