So I have had these leftover tortilla shells hanging around the house. They were getting dried out and hard.

Oh, so nasty.

But I am also not one to waste food. It has become one of my pet peeves. That is when I began looking for recipes for Tortilla Soup. I was rewarded when I found a recipe at Simply Recipes that made four servings. With seven of us at the table I knew I had to double the recipe.

Tortilla Soup with toppings

The day that I was making soup was going to be a busy day as I wanted to be out in the garden as much as possible and the husband wanted to do a hike with the kids and the dog.

Hello, crockpot!

Garlic, Banana Pepper and Onion

So I start the basis of the broth by dicing a medium onion and a deseeded banana pepper with  a pressed clove of garlic. Then I sauted them together in a pan. Once they were ready, I placed the mixture in the crockpot with the broth mixture.

Broth of Tortilla Soup

The crockpot contained 6 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of water, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 cup of diced Roma tomatoes from my garden and one can of chicken (drained). I usually rinse and drain the chicken because I hate the salt content in canned chicken. This mixture was in the crockpot for about 4-5 hours.

Tortilla Strips

About a half an hour before serving the meal I cut my five flour tortillas into strips. Then I made my frying pan smoking hot, added a little sesame seed and threw in the strips. Once they were browned, I put them into a bowl for serving.

This is how I set up each bowl. I put a handful of tortillas in each bowl – more or less depending on who was eating it. Then I gave each bowl a ladleful of the soup. Each person was free to put on their own toppings. The kids choose cheese or sour cream. I did avacado slices and cheese. The husband did chives, avacado, sour cream and cheese (he believes that more is more).

The end result? Empty bowls all around the table and only enough leftovers for one lunch.

Guess they liked it.

What has been a big hit in your house?

