A few weeks ago, I talked about watching a classic movie and how I planned to watch another one.

Grace Kelly in the final scene of "Rear Window," Image from clothesonfilm.com.

So the husband and I watched Rear Window, and I marvelled again at the elegance of Hitchcock’s direction, his use of character actors and limited space for a set. Thelma Ritter remains one of the best character actresses – Ever. The movie was fab but then again so was Grace Kelly who showed up in so many wonderful outfits.  

But what caught my eye was in the final scene when all is at peace once more. Kelly is sitting on the day bed, propped against one side reading a book about South Asia until she thinks Stewert is asleep when she pulls out her luscious Harper’s Bazaar magazine. And to show how fashion returns to old favorites, she is wearing a crisp cinnamon button-front shirt. This picture comes from the blog Clothes-On Film which goes into a wonderful explanation of each piece and the meanings behind them.

Beautiful Cinnamon Shirt

All I could think of was how that color has been showing up in magazines and catalogs all over the place and then here it is in front of my eyes. (Like the shirt, go to this etsy site to buy it) Does this mean that whoever started the cinnamon trend had been watching Rear Window

I wonder if the team who designed Kate Middleton’s wedding dress had been inspired by Grace Kelly in other ways as well – like a gorgeous cinnamon shirt.  

Well, I am not sure how I will incorporate this in my fall wardrobe. I do have a few items I would like to add to the closet to round out what I already have.

 

Tunic Sweater

1. A tunic sweater, prefereably in a neutral color of oatmeal or taupe so it sets off my dark hair without making my pale skin appear that much paler.

This one comes from the Simply Be catalogue.

Tall Boot

 

2. Tall Boots. These are from Jessica London. I love the look with dresses and jeans that are being shown. The heel is only 2 1/4 inches, which is perfect for a clutzy woman as myself. I can’t decide between black or brown. Brown is more my style, black might be more versitile.

 

Swing coat, image from Gone Funky.mybisi.com.

3. A new fall/winter coat. I really like the swing coat designs and would like a dark green color. Finding one exactly how I want it has been difficult and it looks like I might have to make one out of artic fleece.

I found a pattern at Gone Funky but the site says they are out of stock of this pattern. Perhaps the fabric center will have a suitable substitute.

How are you planning to update your fall wardrobe?

