I was at my monthly quilting day at my favorite sewing shop when I noticed a pie recipe in the break room. When you come for an all-day quilter, beside your class fee you bring a snack to share. I usually bring lemon bars or something chocolate because after sewing for a few hours you need a sweet pick-me-up.

This was an unusual pie recipe calling for a whole lemon. That’s right, the whole lemon. I asked about the owner about the recipe and she said it was delicious. She had substituted Stevia for sugar and it still came out very good. So I took the recipe home and decided to find a time to make it.

Oscar night seemed appropriate as Hollywood seems to be the place to have strange things in a recipe. Nothing seemed stranger to me than quartering a lemon, throwing it in a blender with your other ingredients and turning it into pie filling. So here is the recipe from Cooks.com.

Easy Blender Whole Lemon Pie

The Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1  thin-skinned lemon
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter, cut into chunks
  • 4 eggs
  • A dash of salt
  • 1 unbaked pie shell

The Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Quarter the lemon, remove all seeds and the white membrane. I also cut off the nubby ends of my lemon.

    Quartered and membrane removed

  3. Place filling ingredients in blender or food processor. I choose the processor. Blend for 1 1/2 minutes.

    Lemon Puree and Shell

4. Pour into unbaked pie shell. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until set.

I made my pie a day ahead of time because Sunday always gets busier than it should. And right again I was. But we had it during the Oscars. The kids under the age of 10 found it too sour for their tastes. My son who loves sour things ate most of his. The husband and I finished off the pie yesterday.

The end results

We thought it was wonderful.

