I know other bloggers must go through what I am going through today.

I had a topic that I wanted to write about, an oldie that gets me riled to fantastic measures.

Then Egypt happened. And a neighbor who was only 33 died.

Picture by Embalu

On TV, I see the pictures of rioting, I hear reports of the police and the army protecting what they can. But then I hear that the trash is being picked up and the subway is running. That has not stopped  people from gathering to protect their neighborhoods.

People are seeing their country’s government break down and be re-born. I can’t imagine what is going through the heads of the ‘regular’ people.

Nor can I imagine what my neighbor is going through. Her husband, who was only 33, has died. All week there have been cars at her house, people are surrounding her and her girls. We did not speak, not because of any problems. I just never saw them despite our kids being similar in age.

I guess that happens in neighborhoods. There are a bunch of people in my neighborhood that I would talk to if I ever saw them outside of their houses. They have kids, we have kids. But to talk to people you have to get out of the house. To talk to people, you have to make the effort to say hello when you see them at games or concerts. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t.

Picture by Click

My thoughts are with her as the family has the funeral and I plan to send a card later in the week. In the back of my mind, no matter what I am doing,  is the constant thought of wondering how she and the girls are surviving this loss, this huge loss at such a young age.

I also think about my pastor and his wife who lost their 33 y.o. son a year ago. We are not meant to bury our children. And yet, they have and mourned the loss with every holiday and special event. The anniversary of his death is coming up and all of us at church are trying to remember them in our prayers and actions.

To write about anything else seems trivial and pointless. By Wednesday, I might be ready to be more silly.

