Two weeks ago we all vowed to make changes. We were going to eat better, move more, write more, do more to be more of the person we wanted to be.

How is that working out for you?

For me, I am happy to report I am keeping up with the added exercise. I am beginning to see my torso shrink bit by bit, which is nice.

Picture by Xandert

Plus, I decided to try and spend some time in bible study at least 3 times a week but I want to move that daily, eventually. So far so good.

The rough part has been trying to do more freelance writing. It seems like I got hit by a flurry of events that needed my attention. However, I can get back on that bandwagon. Yes, I did not make that goal right away as I had hoped. Why should I let that stop me from working on it now?

I had other goals I really wanted to work on that affect my long range health goals, especially with hereditary Diabetes looming over me like an anvil looms over Wile E. Coyote. I keep thinking if I take care of myself, lose that weight and tone up the body, it will not be so much of an issue.

The weight issue, though, should not preclude the desire to work more. I blew one of my goals for the first two weeks so, by popular belief, that means I blew it for the rest of the year.

Poppycock!

I blew it for the first two weeks but, if I looked right, the calendar has 52 weeks. I still have 50 weeks left to make this goal a reality. So this is my promise to myself, to anyone who is listening.

Every week might see me fail at one or several of my goals that I have set for myself this year but I am not giving up. I forget who said it but everyday is a new chance to do it right.  Everyday is a chance to make the changes you need to make for a better life.

If last week I indulged on too many sweets, this week I am back on the diet bandwagon. If last week I was unable to get my exercise time in, this week I am falling back into the groove. If last week I did not read my meditation study or look for some freelance writing, this week I will.

I will not give up just because I messed up!

picture by Matthew Hull

I had a neighbor who would do this. Start a new diet and then announce how she blew it at the end of the day. She would give up the diet before the week was out. I think many of us do this. We end up feeling like Wile E. Coyote as he shoots to the bottom of the rock cavern with a shadow of doom hanging over him.

I am tired of that feeling. I would rather be the road runner feeling the wind in my hair without a care, knowing success is there in my hands. To confirm all of this my inspirational Dove wrappers said this today: Make a list of your dreams; Follow your instincts; and Take time for yourself today.

Now if you will excuse me, I need to find some writing assignments.

How about you? Are you finding your way to keeping those resolutions you made?

