Having an active dog in the house always makes for an interesting day. I never know just what is going to happen.

Picture by Missy Red Boots

 We end up storing fresh made baked goods in the oven or else they will be eaten – by the dog. Last week I made some delicious peach muffins. A week before my neighbor allowed me to clean out her peach tree. I was able to freeze a bunch but had about one cup leftover. Plus we had some peaches for eating that were leftover as well.

 Well, two cups of sugar, two cups of peaches and some cinnamon with some other ingredients made a big batch of muffins. They were tasty, sweet and moist. Two days later I forgot to put them away and, well, the dog feasted. He even ate the muffin papers.

 But that was not his greatest trick of the week.

 His greatest trick came on Wednesday after the youngest two children and I came home from youth group night. We were doing the end of the night routine – getting the bath ready, directing the youngest to the shower – when the doorbell rang. It was neighbor boys selling popcorn for their boy scout troop. We like popcorn and I am willing to support the boy scouts.

 Then I made the fatal mistake. I opened the front door.

 And the dog, who had been fed but not walked yet, ran at the opportunity. I had a moment to warn the boys to get out of the way before the dog got there. He jumped off the steps, greeted two dust mop dogs and ran some more. So I do the same, apologize to my neighbor about the dog and try to catch up to him. But Storm just keeps moving.

Picture by Gracey

I start thinking about my options. I have the five- and nine-year-old at the house plus the boy scouts from whom I intend to buy popcorn. Someone gets me a treat to tempt the dog. I look down the street and see him looking at me before he runs a little farther away. The husband has the car so I cannot ride after the dog.

 That is when I turned back towards my house and pretended to run. My flat sandals make a slapping noise on the street and I make more noise than normal so the dog will see and hear what I am doing. I look back and he is no where to be seen. I begin to doubt my great plan of making him follow me home. I slow to walk and call to the boys who are waiting for me at the intersection.

 I tell them to go back to my house and I will fill out their form. From out of the air, our big black dog comes running to me. He doesn’t get close enough for me to grab him because he is smarter than the average bear. But he turns the corner and stands in my neighbor’s yard. At least he does not pee on her roses. He is looking at me as I am standing in our yard and sees the treat in my hand. His stance is defiant.

 That is until I turn my back. Suddenly, he is there in our yard and looking at the treat. I run up the front porch, tell my daughter to open the front door. The treat is thrown into the house and the dog goes after it. Lickety-split, the door is shut and locked. Dog is safe inside when I suddenly remember the tub is filling with water. I tell the daughter to run and check it. Thankfully, it is not too full. No overflow tonight.

 That is when I sat back down, ordered a 15-count pack of microwave popcorn from the boy scouts. I shared the complete story with the kids and we move back into our night-time routine. The dog goes back to his night-time routine of trying to steal food.

 Some things never change.

