Slowly, ever so slowly the weight and my big tummy are going away.

This is not me but I hope to be closer to this level of skinniness someday. Picture by Clarita

I think I wrote some time ago that I walk every weekday in the mall. My goal was to get rid of the gut that was going to help me down the road to diabetes. So many stories on research showing the problems with a big belly made me realize it had to go.

So I started doing the sensible things. I read up on what foods help get rid of the belly, looked at what drinking more liquids and a good night’s sleep could do. And then I began to weed out what was crap. I am not falling for the acai berry or the total colon cleansing potions although I really want to do so.

I mean, who doesn’t want to lose the weight and the gut overnight.

The problem is none of that stuff ever goes away over night. I did not get a big belly over one day or one week’s worth of bad eating. It has taken years of bad habits to get there so it might take a while to get rid of all of this stuff.

Here is what is happening. I am noticing every month that my gut is shrinking. Clothes are starting to fall off of my hips. Pants that used to fit just fine require a belt. Skirts and dresses have started to go to the resale shop or being given away. Now I need to be buying new things that fit better.

This is the part in the ad where I tease you with the secret. On one blog I occasionally read, this is where the writer told you all about the magic product she is using.

I am using no magic product.

I have added more fresh fruit and yogurt to the diet. I eat a 6 oz. cup of yogurt as a mid-morning snack and fresh fruit with lunch and for an afternoon snack. I am trying to control my portions and make sure I have a protein source ever three or four hours. I make sure to drink at least 64 oz of liquid – coffee, green tea, water or ice tea but not soda – everyday.

Plus, I have maintained some sort of exercise. Now that school is out, I am only walking the dog in the afternoon. But our town is small enough that I can walk or bike to the grocery store. Sometimes the kids and I ride bikes in the evening after supper or I spend an hour in the garden.

Picture from barnesandnoble.com

What it boils down to is what Julie Hadden, 2nd place winner on Biggest Loser Season Four, says is the key.

Move more, eat less.

It sounds simple. But Julie knows where everyone of us has been and knows it is not. Sooner or later the only secret is move more, eat less. That is the only way to keep the calories from coming in and burning off the fat that is already there.

I read Julie’s book, Fat Chance, last year and was inspired by her story, inspired by her Christian walk. I was inspired by how everything got better for her once she began to appreciate life again and that included her walk with God. While she has a trainer and I do not, I take away her advice. I eat less and control my portions. I move more by walking to the store, parking farther away at a shopping center or doing active stuff with the kids. And it is working for me. This is working for me.

Don’t think that instant colon cleanser doesn’t still appeal. I just know better than to try it.

Karyn Bowman lives in Kankakee County with her outdoor writer husband and four children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook.

