Alice in Wonderland Movie poster, image from IMDB.com

What is your opinion on 3D movies?

 Personally, I am over the hype of 3D. I hate the glasses and the murky colors. The waiting for the right moment is boring and I am tired of the motion sickness I feel during these films.

 Last month, we went to see Alice In Wonderland in 3D at the theater. I did not feel the 3D added anything to the experience. I asked my kids who had different viewpoints. While they liked the movie, they did not see too many 3D effects that were overwhelmingly memorable. I remember a butterfly that flew around at the end of the movie and that was about it. I missed out on how falling down that  hole  was truly special. That should have been one of the best parts.

My husband has similar feelings as I do. He also gets mad about getting new glasses all of the time. I have one friend who saves his glasses but the husband had an experience in which he was not allowed to use old glasses.

 This past week during spring break we took the kids to see How To Train Your Dragon. My husband choose to go with the regular movie because the 3D.

Pirate Radio movie poster, image from IMDb.com

While there were many scenes that might have been a lot of fun in a 3D setting, we were pretty enthralled to watch it in the normal 2D.

 Let me know what you think about the 3D movies and if it is worth your time and money to see one.

 Now on to this week’s movie picks.

 My daughter highly recommends Alvin and the Chipmunks:The Squekquel. The movie follows the continued adventures of those lovable singing rodents who are taking a break from super-stardom while Dave is in the hospital. Going to a real school is where they meet the Chipettes, a competing group discovered by their former manager.

 There is some mild rude humor in this PG flick but kids can watch it without you if you would prefer not to see it yet again. But for kids in the primary grades, this is a perfect option.

Now adults might want something different. One movie that is on my “to see list” is coming out this week on DVD. Pirate Radio stars Philip Seymour Hoffman as a renegade DJ who sets up a ship in the North Atlantic sea so they can play rock-and-roll music that has been banned by the British government. Set in the 60s, we have a sound track that is dominated by the likes of The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Smokey Robinson and the Beach Boys – to name a few.

 This movie is rated R and, being British, probably uses the f-word a lot. But the director is Richard Curtis, who also directed Love Actually. Curtis is capable of leading a big ensemble cast around and making us love almost every single one of them. The kids are not watching this one but I plan to enjoy it.

 Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.

 Let the world, or at least St. Anne, know about your latest pick for Family Movie Night and drop a note to P.O. Box 306, St. Anne, IL 60966 or become my friend on Facebook.

