Today was an incredibly special day for me.

I watched as my oldest son who turned 18 only a month ago vote in the primary. I wasn’t in the booth with him, I did not tell him who to vote for and I did not berate him for his choices. But I was watching as he placed his ballot in the box.

 What a moment, what a wonderful day. My son has started a life long adventure that is called taking part in the American process.

 For our family, voting is as important as eating. When one of your grandparents comes from Czechoslovakia and another is second generation, you learn to vote. The old country did not get that right for decades and suffered much for their desire to live free. If you happen to live in a country that allows people to vote, you get out of the house, get to the polling place and vote.

 I am a political junkie and can tell you at any given time who are possible candidates for POTUS. If I had my way, CNN would be on at our house 24/7 instead of Cartoon Network or the Disney Channel. Politics, whether it is on a local or national level, determine so many parts of our lives that one needs to stay informed so you can feel confident when you enter that voting booth.

 As I drove my son to school I asked who he voted for on his ballot. I congratulated him for joining the process and while he responded in a somewhat cynical manner, he responded. Another voter has joined the ranks. And I am so proud.

 Karyn Bowman is also known as Mom Goes to the Movies. She lives in Kankakee County with her outdoor writer husband and four children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook.

