Family Movie Night

by Karyn Bowman

The other night when I got home from a softball game with the daughter in tow, there was a sheet of paper on my porch table.

It was about our little Country Market, about the roof caving in, about how we should support the owners in their time of need.

That bit of light you see through the door is sky.

That bit of light you see through the door is sky.

It has been very strange to not have that market available. There have been dozens of times in which I have thought to myself that I need to go to the store and pick up this, that, and the other. My husband says he has done the same. Then we remember we cannot go into the store.

That ‘oh’ hangs in the air before the thud of realization.

A store like that makes a town. It was a big factor in our decision to move here. So whenever I am with people I ask “What do you know?” I ask “Are they going to re-open?”

The response for the first-timers are always shock and disbelief. That was my own reaction when I came home from work that Tuesday. One of my son’s friends was bunking on the futon because they were evacuated from their apartment.

But then we talk about what that little store means, how getting fresh meat and produce really matters. With the closing of that store, even if it is only for a short time, we are suddenly in a food desert. Dollar General might have limit choices of meat but fresh fruits and veggies are not there.

It is sad and frustrating. So my wishes and hopes are that Larry and Sandy decided to re-open, that any and all repair work goes smoothly. And that our little store re-opens soon so that  we can mix and mingle  once more while we buy our groceries as a community.

I thought about movies that focused on small businesses. The first that came to mind was Barbershop starring Ice Cube as a man who has inherited his father’s barbershop on the south side of Chicago. Ice Cube is able to cut hair and has about six other barbers cutting hair in their chairs.

Barber Shop starring Ice Cube, Cedric the Entertainer, Eve, Micheal Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Troy Garity, David Keith, Sean Patrick Thomas

Barber Shop starring Ice Cube, Cedric the Entertainer, Eve, Micheal Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Troy Garity, David Keith, Sean Patrick Thomas

But this is not what he wants to do with his life. Once he can get rid of the barbershop, this man knows he can find a better way to support his wife and expected child. Trying to get rid of his father’s shop is an ordeal until a local ‘business’ man makes an offer. When Ice Cube learns of the new direction for the old barbershop, he feels regret. He looks around and realizes why a simple business like this old shop is so important to the community.

Is this a movie for the younger members of the family? I would say no. It moves too slowly without enough chases scenes, explosions, or fights to keep their attention. Plus, there are some language issues that make me a little embarrassed, let alone a child under 13. I am not sure if kids over 13 will like it because of the adult issues of owning a business but not loving it. There is a sub plot about stupid crooks involving Anthony Anderson but the language these guys use is not appropriate for younger children.

That said, I do enjoy this movie as an adult. I love the interaction of the staff at the barbershop, I find the theft storyline funny, and I love how Ice Cube underplays a role he could have hammed it up. Instead, he let the story play itself out and that is what I love about this movie.

Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.

