Family Movie Night

 

by Karyn Bowman

 

This past weekend I was hoping to sneak in the newest Snow White  movie with Kristen Stewart so that I could compare and contrast with Mirror, Mirror which came out earlier this year.

 

Poster Image from IMDb.com

But time and opportunity got away from me. Disappointment reigns sometimes in life.

 

One thing that was not disappointing involved our movie choice for Friday Night. We finally got to see We Bought a Zoo.


The story is about a man who has lost his wife to cancer. He still has two children to raise but finds reminders of her all over their neighborhood. So he decides to move, which leads to the zoo. And that leads to many changes for the kids. Along the way feelings develop, mature, and expand as the family learns how to care for the animals in the zoo.

 

I knew it was going to be cute at points, you don’t have a little girl who cute without a bit of cheesiness. But there were times the movie was incredibly honest in the emotions that were shared or not shared. I felt like I was re-visiting old family fights as the teen boy goes after his dad for being inattentive to him.

 

Poster Image from IMDb.com

Let me say that there are moments of swearing that may not make some people happy. I feel they are used as release points. One moment in the movie has the daughter say a word that she states she does not understand but does not believe it describes this particular character accurately.

 

I began to really like it as the Matt Damon character had to own up to his faults and make amends.

 

So be aware that this is a good movie, that it is emotionally raw in spots but for the most part its heart is in the right place. Plus, I loved it that the Thomas Hayden Church character was playing the straight guy for once.

****************

Now, last week I mentioned enjoying watching a bad movie every now and again. While I was waiting up for my husband to return the other night from the city, I found myself watching Wolverine. The movie was so predictable it was almost sad.

 

How anyone could waste the talented Hugh Jackman is beyond me but it happened here.

This is supposed to be the origin story of our favorite X-Man. We see a few other mutants along with one particularly gruesome death. But time and time again I could predict exactly what was going to happen, what was going to be said and what would be the final outcome.

 

I am willing to watch Jackman in a bad movie. Heck, I sat through Real Steel which is basically a remake of a Sylvester Stallone movie. But this comic book movie was below my expectations and not in a fun way.

 

There are times playing it serious in a bad movie works and times when it does not. Let me just say that Wolverine is not an enjoyable bad movie.

 

Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.