Family Movie Night

 

by Karyn Bowman

 

Sports have filled our life lately.

 

This past weekend was opening day festivities for tee ball/softball/baseball season. We had great weather for the parade, pictures and some games. The rain delayed until Sunday night.

 

I was lucky, I was only sunburned a little bit on the legs. That is a miracle for me, usually I am red from head to toe but a little sunscreen did a lot of work.

 

The other sports action was David going with some friends to the Brickyard in Indianapolis as the racers vied for the pole position of the Indy 500 scheduled for this coming weekend. The best part was when he sent a picture of himself with Mario Andretti, the 1969 winner of the Indy 500. I get chills thinking about it.

 

Oh, and did I mention that the Sox swept their opponent this past weekend? I am not sure what could have been a better weekend.

 

Image from IMDb.com

So I was trying to think of movie tie-ins for all of this. Most people know my favorite baseball movies includeMajor League, Bull Durham, The Natural and Field of Dreams. These are adult oriented movies that tend to about more than baseball but retain that dreaminess that I associate with baseball.

 

A movie that you can watch with your teenage girls is A League of Their Own. But let me warn you that boxes of tissues will be needed by the end of the movie. My all time favorite kid movie about baseball is forever moreThe Sandlot. All you ever have to do is say “You’re killing me, Smalls” and some adult will automatically smile.

 

Baseball, with all of its economic realities, maintains a slow pace. It reminds us that some things take time to happen and we must be patient. Adding a new movie to the pantheon is not easy. But this year I now need to put Moneyball starring Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill up there.

 

The story is about how a general manager was brave and began using sabermetrics to determine what player to get for various positions. For a team like Oakland , this was important when you have little money to utilize. I was drawn into the movie, could not believe that Pitt and Hill made math interesting. Oh, and Philip Seymour Hoffman as the frustrated coach was great as well.

 

Image from IMDb.com

When it comes to car racing movies, I am not much of an expert but I know how to find one. While all of those Burt Reynolds Cannonball Run movies might come to mind or the Fast and the Furious series, I found one that might beat them all.

 

Back in 1971, Steve McQueen made a movie about a famous European race called simply Le Mans. Set in France , the Le Mans is an endurance race as two drivers take turns driving 200 mph for 24 hours. The McQueen vehicle explains life at two-hour intervals. Considered one of the best racing movies that is almost a documentary.

 

Until next week, see you in the rental aisle.