Product Thursday

When I am finished with this entry, you will know I am a totally uncool person.

While I make a point to be politically aware, listen to classical music and NPR,  have travelled a little and yearn to travel more, the truth is I will always be the small town geek. I will always be the book worm and gardening nut.

I will always be the non-hipster.

Picture by Seemann

I am starting to embrace that fact in the same way I love my garden and reading habit. So should it be surprising that my favorite coffee is not Starbucks or some of the other “fancy” coffees?

As my mother has pointed out many times, Starbucks is too bitter. Even with all of the sugar and cream added that makes the coffee taste better. Oh, how I love Caramel Macchiato until the aftertaste.

Now, I drink a fair amount of coffee and I have been trying different brands. My mother once gave us a gift pack of flavored coffees that I liked better than the husband did. The funny thing is my favorite coffee is an old brand.

Everybody knows it for some of the sappiest commercials at Christmas. You know the one in which the son who has been away from home sneaks in and wakes his little sister. They make coffee to surprise mom and dad with his homecoming.

Are you tearing up because I am just thinking about that scene. I know a grown woman shouldn’t do such a thing but I do.

Image from Folgers.com

More importantly, I like the flavor when I drink the coffee with or without flavored creamer. I like the smell when I open the container and when the coffee is brewing. And while I am drinking it, I never think “why am I drinking this?” Food should never make you feel regret because the taste overrides the benefits. Food and drink should pair together to make life just that much better.

 What is your favorite coffee or tea?

 Every Thursday I will review a product or service. If you would like to make a suggestion for a product or have a product you would like me to review, please contact me at bowmankaryn@sbcglobal.net.

