Small Leaf Eastern European Linden Tree

 

At the beginning of spring, the flowering trees begin to pop out. One by one they all take their turns to produce beautiful flowers and lovely scents.  

First it is the Magnolias, then Dogwoods, the fruit trees and the sycamores. But the last one may be the best one.  

When I smell the faint smell of gardenia I know the Linden trees have finally bloomed. I find these trees as I walk the dog and will stand under them to inhale their smell because it will not last. I took the picture of the entire tree last week but what does not show up is the thousands of sweet-smelling blooms on this tree.  

Leaf Study

 

This particular Linden tree is around the corner from my house. It is sweet and pungent. It is also the last of the flowering trees. The heavy scent may be getting  us ready for mid-summer when the air is heavy with the flowering perfumes.  Those cream-colored blooms were white last week. The smell is slowly fading from real life but not from my memory.  

I plan to put on in my front yard, which will have a nasty effect on the perennial garden until the tree is tall enough to shade only the house. In the meantime, I will enjoy the smell that will invade my bedroom in early June.  

Hollyhock Stalks

 

On my blog’s record of searches, I saw someone was looking for a tall stalk plant. Weed or not?  

This is a Hollyhock, quite the old-fashioned plant. The stalk can get up to seven feet tall. It can be a weed if you do not want it . I have seen wonderful specimens when I drive down alleys in Kankakee. Birds tend to distribute the seeds.  

Most years I get various shades in the maroon family. This year an ivory color showed up and I am not disappointed. It is quite lovely as is the pink flower  

Hollyhock study

 

that has shown up.  

Once the stalk is done blooming and the seed pods have dried out, I will pick them and distribute them in my Hollyhock patch. It has only take five years of this practice to make the great abundance I now have. 

This plant is a biennial, meaning the plant blooms every two years.  So throwing down seeds now to get a plant this year means flowers arrive next year.  Which means my patch will be even bigger and we can make more dolls out of them than the year before. 

Do you have a favorite plant in your garden, the neighborhood or town/city? 

Karyn Bowman lives in Kankakee County with her husband and children. Become friends with Karyn on Facebook.

